A Year Focused on Practicing Kindness

We cultivate love when we allow our most vulnerable and powerful selves to be deeply seen and known, and when we honor the spiritual connection that grows from that offering with trust, respect, kindness and affection.” – Brené BrownThe Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are

If you can be anything be kind

Often times, I am so internally driven to be better, do better, work harder, aim higher. This year, I have so many opportunities and adventures planned. Some are more widely known than others. We are traveling to Greece for three weeks this January. In January, I also find out if I am admitted to a joint M.S./Ph.D program. April will bring the joy of a niece.  We will travel around the country again. After becoming more resilient and taking the Brene Brown class, I understand the love I am capable of giving and the love I deserve and I can’t wait to give and get more of each.  I’ve also learned how to be kinder and more compassionate towards myself. A lesson I badly needed to learn. The year 2013, introduced me to my30th year of life and was an excellent teacher on love, family, resilience, and culture. Life is really, really good.

Rather than focusing on the usual, internal motivations, in 2014, I want to focus externally through being kind. I will share kindness,

26 Acts of Kindness doacts of kindness, and recognize kindness when it happens. Similar to Becca’s joy jar, I want to keep a jar and journal of the acts of kindness I see or contribute this year. Kind/kindness will be my #oneword2014. Choosing this word was very difficult. I ruminated on bold, kind, move (so much traveling & running planned this year), adventure, joy, wholehearted, dream, connect, and grow. So many great words to describe how I want to be at the end of 2014, but many of them were internal. Life has been good, and I want to give back. I am not an unkind person, but the last time I checked, the world and everyone in it could benefit from more kindness. Kindness is free. Kindness is always the right thing to do. Kindness is something we are all capable of giving.

One thing that really draws me to this word is that there are endless ways to be kind to ourselves and to others. As I travel down this path of being kind and sharing kindness, I will share my experiences here with you and I would love to hear about your experiences with kindness too!

No Act of Kindness is Ever Too Small

Leave a Reply

