One word 2013: Resilient

“If we don’t allow ourselves to experience joy and love, we will definitely miss out on filling our reservoir with what we need when. . . . hard things happen.”
― Brené Brown

     Participating in the #oneword2012 resolution was exciting and successful. My #oneword2012, intentional, provoked reflection and purposeful holistic development. After months of thought and consideration, my #oneword2013 is resilientSynonyms for resilient include irrepressible, flexible, quick to recover, and strong. I’ve chose this word for many reasons but mainly because I find myself sweating the small stuff and being easily derailed or frustrated by things that truly don’t matter. My goal is to not be thrown off by the little things, the hiccups, the irritations, the changes in the plan that derail me.

My strengths are focus, restorative, discipline, learner, and consistency. I can be a really intense and driven individual. The “dark side” of my strengths is that I tend to be rule oriented and rigid. Adaptability and flexibility are important to me and I want to learn these skills. Here is how I plan to do it.

Think & Dream Big: In 2012, I attempted to complete the #52in52 challenge. I did not succeed but read about 27 books. The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch was one of the books I read and a central theme in this book was dream big. Dreaming and thinking big are two ways to increase my resiliency for 2013 and life in general. Life is more than work and home, and you only live once. I want to make the most of my life by being resilient and not sweating the small stuff.

Dont be critical of small things

Limit the Dip: I may not be able to control when something throws me off course, but I can control how I react and how quickly I get back on track. Ultimately, I hope that smaller things in life won’t derail me or frustrate me as easily, but in the meantime, I can limit the impact of the “dips”.  Some tangible ways to get back on track are to take a break, walk away from a situation, read things that I know will make me laugh, and focus on how I can learn from the situation.

Learn & Reflect: There are rare times when I am exceptionally good at being adaptable and flexible. By intentionally reflecting on these times, maybe I can see how they are different from my usual reaction. Conversely, maybe there is a trend in the times when I am derailed. What can I learn from these situations & how can I use that to become more resilient?

Know better do better Maya Angelo

Accept the Inevitable: Bad days happen. An individual’s locus of control only extends so far.  One of my favorite quotes from my #52in52 readings was from The Happiness Project, “The days are long, but the years are short.” I can focus on the positive, try to be resilient, and learn from each experience.

Bad day not a bad life

Run: Running is one of the best ways I have challenged myself holistically as a person. Running will also help me with my resiliency because some days, I can get up and run six miles – others, I’m struggling after one or two. The days that I struggle do not set me back. I don’t stop running entirely. Just the opposite, I get up the next day and tell myself to do better.

See how I keep my #oneword2013 on my mind here (Thanks for the idea Becca & Niki!): http://pinterest.com/cijiann11/resilient/

What is your #oneword2013? Share it with me  and have a Happy New Year! 

4 thoughts on “One word 2013: Resilient

Leave a Reply

