A Different Kind of Gift

December 22 is my birthday. Growing up, my mom would come home with presents wrapped in neon green and pink and orange paper with crazy curly bows that stuck out in every direction. We went ice-skating or tubing, had hot chocolate, avoided Christmas music & unplugged the tree. Each year on my birthday, I usually save up some money and buy myself one really nice gift. Although this year has been life changing in more than one way (marriage, buying a house, personal & profesional relationships), I am changing one more thing, my gift to myself this year will be a different kind of gift.

This year, my gift to myself will be to wake up on Saturday morning, eat some oatmeal, stretch, and run a 10K.

Recently, my partner and I have been running as a way to be healthy, set new goals, and in some cases, spend time with friends and family. We have run multiple 5Ks and fun runs. Now, I want to run a 10K. My partner is already luring me into notions of training for a half marathon. There will not be a 10K race where I will be on December 22, but I’m going to get up and run anyway.

Rather than buying myself something and investing in a material item, I’m investing in myself.

This gift is different because it every so slightly scares the hell out of me. When I run regularly my confidence is higher, I feel good, my butt looks great, I’m less stressed, and overall life seems to go smoother. Regardless of these great outcomes, I still get that little sense of dread, panic, and doubt every once in a while. That voice that says… What if I can’t do it? What if I fail? What if I quit?

RUN

I’ve had the idea for this gift since we started running. I kept it to myself. What if I shared this goal with people and then I failed? Telling someone would make me vulnerable. Well, I am putting it all out on the table. My goal is to run a 10K, this is double my normal distance and it is just big enough to scare me. There are worse things in life than failure and instead of asking.. What if I fail? I’m going to make a habit out of asking, What if don’t? For this gift to myself, I’m letting go of the vulnerability and taking the risk because after all….

If you wanna fly

What is your gift to yourself this year? I’d love to hear about it.

3 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Gift

Leave a Reply

