The Beauty in Things

“Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.” – Ashley Smith

Around this time of year, I start to get tense. I have tunnel vision on closing the residence halls, getting the international students to their families safely, making the finishing touches on spring semester training, helping students get through end of the semester stress, and getting home to my family for my birthday and the holidays.

This year, although I am not focused on the same things, there is still plenty of stress, work, and wedding planning preparation happening that keeps my plate full. During this time of intense focus and stress, I wanted to write about something that gets lost during this time: the beauty in things.

I was pretty stressed the other day, could feel my blood pressure rising, was disappointed by another rejection letter, balancing feeling grateful but disappointed about my part-time work, and working through emotional situations regarding the wedding. I decided to go for a run. While on my run, I was lost in my thoughts, in my frustration and disappointment. I looked up to cross the street, and saw something really simple, but very beautiful. I saw a father and his three children. He was running up hill, with one child in a stroller, and the other two laughing and following behind him with huge semi-toothless grins that are only adorable on small children. I realized it was actually a very nice, cold, sunny day outside.

I finished my run and starting thinking about some other things that I find beautiful. My entire mood changed and before I knew it, I was generating an amazing list of things I find beauty in. I thought I would take some time to share this list, maybe it will brighten your day too!

  • The sound of my grandfather’s laugh.
  • The way my grandmother & I eat mozzarella sticks (we call them cheese sticks)
  • Pain in my thighs and butt and chest on an awesome run
  • My partner’s arms around me on a particularly tough day
  • Students who gain confidence and fully realize their potential

    Snoopy in all his glory!
  • When my partner and I handle a difficult situation together, as a team
  • Friends who trust me and that I trust
  • The tons of emails, calls, and exchanges I have with my mom – everyday
  • Snoopy’s tail wagging
  • My aunt’s knitting
  • Knowing it will all work out… and will all be okay

What do you find to be beautiful? What pulls you out of a funk?

Leave a Reply

