Life’s To-Do List …

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” – Albert Einstein

At the end of every work day, I usually do a quick assessment of the state of my to-do list and draft a new list for the next day. Recently, I left my job and moved south to be with my fiancé. I job search and send out applications relentlessly but I am not the kind of girl to apply to any old job – I want a job that I can sink my teeth into, that aligns with my career goals, and that I can stay at for up to five years. Needless to say, I have a lot of down time. I find myself (already!) getting into a slump of sorts and wondering how many times I can sweep and mop the house before I start to lose my mind. All of which, has lead me to this post. I’m so used to working and only seeing the people I love once in a while. My life is the complete opposite now, so what am I to do with my life? As it turns out, there is loads of stuff sitting on my back burner (it’s a big burner) and I thought posting it here would not only hold me accountable for getting down to accomplishing some of these goals, but maybe inspire someone else to remember their goals for life. Here are some things that I would like to do with my life while I have the time to do them:

  • Start living my dream day 
  • Focus on my journaling and blogging
  • Blog my way through Empowering Women in Higher Education and Student Affairs 
  • Read Dante’s Divine Comedy and Vita Nuova (again)
  • Spend at least one hour a day doing physical activity preferably a combination of running and yoga
  • Enter at least one writing contest
  • Submit a program proposal to NAFSA & ACPA national conferences
  • Volunteer … preferably somewhere helping women
  • Study Italian through language practice, writing, reading Italian newspapers, etc.
  • Touch base with my mentors
  • Continue to spend at least one to two hours a day outside with Snoopy Kent (our 11 year old beagle)
  • Focus on my spiritual relationship
  • Meditate and reflect

What passions have you accidentally put off or just have not had time for? If you did not work, what would you spend your time doing? How do you balance (or compliment) what you put into work, with what you put into life?

One thought on “Life’s To-Do List …

  1. I dig it Ciji! I hope you can take full advantage of your time and embrace the opportunity you are in right now, even though it can be particularly unsettling some days. You are a wonderful woman, with strong drive and passions. I have full confidence that the right opportunity will come to you at the right time. Love, Po

    Like

Leave a Reply

