How do you uplift?

Courage allows the successful woman to fail and learn powerful lessons
from the failure- so that in the end, she didn’t fail at all.
— Maya Angelou

I was not one of the amazing women fortunate enough to attend the WISA (Women in Student Affairs) conference that took place in Columbus, Ohio last Friday; however, I did have the enlightening experience of following the #WISA backchannel on twitter. Thank you to all of those who tweeted from the conference! The question was posed via twitter: What are the affirmations that you give yourself everyday?

We know the #WLSALT sisters work towards uplifting each other and other women, but how do we as individual women, uplift ourselves? @OberBecca once wrote a post on making a way to hear her own voice, and have that voice be just as heard as the voices around her.

Giving is a beautiful thing, giving without expectation is even better, and we have to remember to give back to ourselves. How do you uplift yourself everyday? I constantly hear women belittling themselves all around me by saying any number of things including but not limited to: “Well, I’m just crazy like that”, “I’m such a bitch”, “OMG there is no way I would fit in that”, “I’m fat, that’s just how it is”, “Well he said I should get a simpler phone since I can’t figure out my Smartphone… maybe I should get a different phone”, it goes on and on.

As women of all ages, shapes, sizes, cultures, and beauties we receive any number of messages from countless sources like music, TV, billboards, magazines, books about how we need help, need to be smarter, thinner, prettier, have whiter teeth, work harder to be more like men, be less emotional, have bigger boobs, the list goes on. What messages do we send ourselves and the women around us to affirm positive things and uplift ourselves and each other?

My message to myself is this: I am beautiful, intelligent, sexy, educated, strong, and I choose who I surround myself with. I don’t need any product, endorsement, or perspective on what someone thinks I should be. I am a hand crafted piece of perfection and every part of me is the way it is meant to be and I am always striving to be the best version of myself. I will make my dreams come true.

My message to you is this: You are beautiful. You are the queen of your own queendom. If you do not value yourself – why would you expect someone else to? You define who you are. You are a hand crafted piece of perfection and every part of you is the way it is meant to be. You are the one who can push yourself to be the best version of yourself. You have the power to change lives, do good, grow, and flourish. Do not be what holds you back, be the thing that makes you achieve your wildest dreams.

5 thoughts on “How do you uplift?

  1. Niki & Erin thank you for the kind words! You inspire me all the time through work with #WISA #WLsalt @sawomenlead twitter comments & posts, etc. I thought the least I could do was say thank you, and pay it forward.

    Like

Leave a Reply

