#OneWord2012 Intentional

For the past two months, I have been giving a lot of thought to engaging in the #oneword movement. Originally, I thought my word would be positive, but after reading the origins of the #oneword resolution, a new word hit pretty hard and covers a much broader range of what I would truly like to move towards in the 2012 year.

My #oneword2012 is intentional.

Taken from www.dictionary.com, the definition of intentional is as  follows:

in·ten·tion·al

adjective

1. done with intention or on purpose; intended: an intentional compliment.
2. of or pertaining to intention or purpose.
3. Metaphysics .

     a. pertaining to an appearance, phenomenon, or representation in the mind; phenomenal;representational.
     b. pertaining to the capacity of the mind to refer to an existent or nonexistent object.
     c. pointing beyond itself, as consciousness or a sign.

This one word will motivate me to achieve more positive thinking by intentionally making time to do things that encourage me to think and focus on the positive aspects of life.  I will be more intentional about engaging regularly on twitter, blogging 2-3 times a month, journal 3 times a week, read material with positive content, and increase contact with friends and family that share a positive perspective.

I will be more intentional about being active. Walking from building to building on campus, or walking the dog down to the end of the street is no longer sufficient. I want more activity in my life, and I want to be more intentional about my activity by walking Snoopy around the block instead of just down the street, utilizing my many YogAmazing podcast that are FREE on itunes, using my Nike + GPS App to set challenges for myself so that I am intentionally getting faster, stronger, and averaging longer distances. I live in North Carolina, a state with skiing, mountains ripe for hiking, a beach, and areas to go white water rafting. I will be doing these things during my time in this geographically versatile state.

My one word, intentional, encourages me to be more focused on the faith in my life and how I harness, grow, and explore that faith.

In short, I want this year to be about intentionally living my life to the fullest. I do not want to wake up everyday and “hope” the day goes well. I want to make the day go well and challenge myself to be positive about the glorious people, events, and general things in my life (including my self-image).

Are you up for the #oneword challenge? Share your word with @NikiRudolph on Twitter and try a new style of resolution and motivation.

2 thoughts on “#OneWord2012 Intentional

  1. Pingback: More than Reading | Ciji Ann

  2. Pingback: #OneWord Mid-Year Reflection | Ciji Ann

Leave a Reply

